What To Read After Fifty Shades Of Grey?

Beautiful Disaster

After reading the most popular book in the world I wanted to see if there was any other books out there that was similar to it. I write about possessive men and they are the style of books I love to read. I love reading about a guy who knows what he wants and is not afraid to go and get it. As far as I’m concerned the moment I pick up a book I’m being transported to a world that is not based on reality.

Now, I want to make sure that not all these books have the exact elements that make up Fifty Shades of Grey and I would recommend many people exploring more type of erotic romance with BDSM inside. There are so many books out there for everyone to enjoy. Many of books feature a more intense BDSM theme while others do not.

So, I want to start by saying that these books are my selection of favourites that I’ve been recommended after reading Fifty shades of Grey. Also, these books will feature any of the following elements:

1) BDSM

2) Possessive alpha male

3) Older man

4) Tortured hero or heroine

5) Just because I think they deserve a mention.

I want to make a point that these books are my own personal choice and the stories I’ve enjoyed. What I will also do is add one of the reasons I mentioned above why it has got a mention.

So, I was recommended Beautiful Disaster written by Jamie McGuire.

Here is the blurb:

Good Girl. Abby Abernathy doesn’t drink or swear and she works hard. Abby believes she has created enough distance between her and the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college, her dreams of a new beginning are quickly challenged by the university’s walking one-night stand.

Bad Boy. Travis Maddox, handsome, built, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs – and wants – to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight club, and his days as the notorious college Lothario.

A disaster waiting to happen…

Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his charms, Travis tricks her into his life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain celibate for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’ apartment for the same amount of time.

Or the start of something beautiful?

Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match. Or that this is the start of an obsessive, intense relationship that will lead them both into unimaginable territory…

Buy link: http://www.amazon.com/Beautiful-Disaster-Jamie-McGuire/dp/1466401885/ref=la_B005WL2MVC_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1344428432&sr=1-1

Now my thoughts. There were quite a few negative reviews on Amazon and I’m a curious person and when they said Travis was to possessive that he beat a guy up, I figured this was my kind of read.

Travis is your ultimate bad boy. You get to read him from Abby’s point of view and that provides an interesting perspective. You only get her side of things but as you read the book, you know there is far more to Travis than what she sometimes sees.

I love how possessive he is of her. There relationship takes a long time to happen and along the way there are a few bumpy roads like in any relationship. A few times throughout the book you really want to know what Travis is thinking and feeling. It is like a whole new book could be read based on him alone. Thankfully, Jamie McGuire has already written Travis’s book, which is titled, Walking Disaster.

This book made me fall in love with possessive males all over again. Beautiful Disaster is a young adult novel but it is to the older bracket of where that market is aimed.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and because of this book, I decided to try out more books that have been linked to this one.

Thank you for listening.

Sam

2 thoughts on “What To Read After Fifty Shades Of Grey?

  1. Susan platt says:

    This sounds like a really interesting story. Just added to wish list so am looking forward to reading it.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s